SHMILY

I’d like to share with you all a little story, one that I hold close to my heart. It’s not my own story, but one I heard a long time ago. And I’ll tell you why it’s important to me after.

This is the story (short version) of the word. SHMILY. Unfortunately I do not know who the original author was, it’s been republished so many times, but anyways… here it is.

“My grandparents were married for over half a century, and played their own special game from the time they had met each other. The goal of their game was to write the word “SHMILY” in a surprise place for the other to find.
     They took turns leaving “SHMILY” around the house, and as soon as one of them discovered it, it was their turn to hide it once more. They dragged “SHMILY” with their fingers through the sugar and flour containers to await whoever was preparing the next meal. They smeared it in the dew on the windows overlooking the patio where my grandma always fed us delicious treats. “SHMILY” was written in the steam left on the mirror after a hot shower, where it would reappear bath after bath.
     At one point, my grandmother even unrolled an entire roll of toilet paper to leave “SHMILY” on the very last sheet. There was no end to the places “SHMILY” would pop up. Little notes with “SHMILY” scribbled hurriedly were found on dashboards and car seats, or taped to steering wheels. The notes were stuffed inside shoes and left under pillows. “SHMILY” was written in the dust upon the mantel and traced in the ashes of the fireplace.
     This mysterious word was as much a part of my grandparents’ house as the furniture”

Now you all are probably wondering what SHMILY actually means, and I’ll get to that in a second… first I’d like to tell you what this word means to me. You see, when I was a teen, going through a rough time my mother and I heard this story and we thought it was adorable. Ffw a few weeks and I’m doing homework and I open my notebook and find the word SHMILY written on the inside of the front cover. I smiled, and immediately began looking for a place to write it so my mom could find it later. And so it begun. From the time i was 15 , up until the day of her funeral … my mother and I played this little game and it never ever failed to bring a smile to our faces. You wouldn’t even believe some of the places that cute little word would show up. I STILL find little scraps of paper from time to time that I’ve had put up, as well as birthday cards and such that she also wrote shmily in for me. It was such a simple little thing… but the meaning behind it was so much more… and on the day I had to say good bye to her for the last time… I placed inside her hands a piece of paper, on it I had written, you guessed it… SHMILY. 

So.. what is SHMILY?

SHMILY is an acronym for the phrase : See How Much I Love You.

See I told you it had a much bigger meaning 殺

With all that being said… I’d like to wish my Mom Misty,  a very happy “Burfday”. There’s not a day that goes by that you don’t cross my mind. And eventhough life keeps moving… a piece of me is still stuck, frozen  in time in 2020 because the day i lost you, I lost a piece of myself.  and id do anything to find SHMILY somewhere new… just one more time. I miss you so much… I hope you know how much you are loved. ♡♡ Jon, Me and Riss are doing the best we can to navigate this crazy world without you… it’s been a challenge to say the least… hope you’ve enjoyed the show lol if we can’t make you proud at the very least we will certianly make you laugh!

SHMILY, MOM ♡HAPPY Burfday! I hope where ever you are that you are at peace and you have a nice view .  until we meet again ♡

❤️K

Misty Dawn Lambert April 24 1973 – August 14 2020
My 28th bday card signed shmily by my mom

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.